Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) Update!

TEA  has released a To the Administrator Addressed letter which provides updates on the implementation of the ESSA.  Highlights of the letter are below.

Please note that the new legislation does not impact any requirements or reports for the 2015-2016 school year, nor does it change any current state statutes or requirements.

Title I assessment requirements did not change.  All states accepting Title I funds must assess reading/language arts and mathematics annually in each grade three through eight and once in high school.  Additionally, science must be assessed in each of these grade spans:  three through five; six through nine; and ten through twelve.  English language proficiency must also be assessed annually from kindergarten through grade twelve.

New Title I accountability provisions will take effect in the 2017-2018 school year.  For the 2016-2016 school year, the current list of priority and focus campuses will remain as is.

All requirements related to highly qualified teachers will remain in place through the end of the 2015-2016 school year.  Beginning with the 2016-2017 school year, schools will no longer be required to comply with the highly qualified teacher requirements.  All state certification requirements will remain in place.

For Title III federal accountability for ELLs is still required.  Standards for 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 are to be determined and announced to the LEAs.

The NCLB Consolidated Grant Application will have a few changes for the 2016-2017 grant year with more extensive changes for the 2017-2018 grant year.

To access the complete letter, click here:


If you have any questions, comments, and feedback regarding ESSA implementation in Texas, please direct them to essa@tea.texas.gov

Please contact Jennifer Womack at jennifer.womack@esc13.txed.net or Shirley Sanford at shirley.sanford@esc13.txed.net for questions.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to RSS Feed Follow me on Twitter!